CALIFORNIA LEMON LAW ATTORNEY DISPELS MYTHS
Maybe it’s time to stop being squeezed by a lemon.
Indeed, if your experience behind the wheel of your new or used car has soured due to frequent repairs and safety concerns, it may be time to turn it in. Find out if you qualify under California Lemon Laws and or the Federal Lemon Law, the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act, for a reimbursement or replacement vehicle.
Does your car qualify under California and federal lemon law statutes? The legal process can be daunting, but if your life is disrupted by frequent car repairs it may be time to seek help.
Myth No. 1: California Lemon Laws Only Protect New Car Owners
FALSE. The Golden State’s lemon laws protect owners of both new and used vehicles if they were purchased while still covered under the original new car warranty. This means cars, motorcycles, trucks, boats and motorhomes used for personal or business purposes, limited to companies with no more than five vehicles. Motorhomes or RVs are included, but the law does not include repairs to defects inside the living space.
Myth No. 2: California Lemon Laws Expire Within 30 Days of Purchase
FALSE. As long as your vehicle is still covered under the original manufacturer’s warranty there is an opportunity to file a claim. Under the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act, a car manufacturer warranty can be enforced. Also, after a consumer has made a reasonable amount of attempts to fix the product fail a consumer can request a replacement or refund.
Myth No. 3. Do I Have to Make at Least 4 Repairs Before the Lemon Law Applies?
FALSE. The state and or federal lemon laws apply if car owners or lessees have made a “reasonable number of attempts” to repair the vehicle within the first 18,000 miles or 18 months — whichever comes first. However, there are specific guidelines as follows:
- For same or similar problems, at least four attempted repairs is considered reasonable.
- If there is a safety defect, one that is considered life-threatening, there need only be one or two repair attempts made.
- Or, a car owner who has been without their vehicle for a cumulative total of 30 days within the first 18 months or 18,000 miles qualifies.
Myth No. 4: Lemon Law Attorneys Are Expensive — It’s Not Worth it
FALSE. The Lemon Law Lawyers at Johnson Attorneys Group offer a free consultation to anyone who would like to find out if they have a claim. Additionally, if our offices represent you and file a claim on your behalf, the manufacturer is required to pay our fees – not you. These fees DO NOT come out of your settlement because under the federal Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act there is a provision allowing you to recover attorney fees if you are successful.
California Lemon Law Lawyers — Call 800-235-6801
Does any of this sound like the situation you are dealing with? The Lemon Law offices of Johnson Attorneys Group is one of California’s finest law firms specializing in California Lemon Law. Our years of dedicated service on behalf of our clients has rendered us a 98.7 percent success rate in the cases we accept.
- FREE consultation to find out if you qualify
- Manufacturer pays attorney’s fees in most cases
- Highly experienced Lemon Law Attorney
What documents do Lemon Law Attorneys need?
- Lease contract or purchase agreement
- Repair receipts/documents
- DMV registration
- Payoff amount of loan or lease
What Can a California Lemon Law Attorney Do to Help You?
Johnson Attorneys Group is qualified to help you with your potential Lemon Law case. Our attorneys will negotiate with the manufacturer to get them to buy back your vehicle or replace it. We have offices throughout California to serve you.
Contact us at 800-235-6801 for a free case evaluation with a competent Lemon Law Attorney. You can be confident that our law firm will do everything possible to resolve your case so you can get back behind the wheel of a safe and reliable vehicle.